Unique National Parks Site Map Resources Info Privacy Policy

Discover the nature of Serengeti National Park

Grand Canyon
Great Barrier Reef
Jasper National Park
Kruger Park
Manuel Antonio
Masai Mara
Mount Cook
Mount Everest
Murchison Park
Smoky Mountains

Serengeti · Tourism · Nature · Photos Videos · Books Maps · Resources ·

Unique National Parks > Serengeti > Nature

Discover the nature of Serengeti National Park

There are a lot of 'special' animals who live in the Serengeti, we will give a short list of animals who live in the park.

The Lion The Lion
The Lion is one of the four' big cats', it is only eclipsed in size by the tiger. The Lions can live for 10 to 14 years in the wild and in captivity they can live over 20 years. This muscular animal can weigh up to 200 kg and measure up to 150 cm in length, Lions can only be found in the tropical weather of the middle of Africa.



Elephants are mammals, and the largest land animals alive today. The elephant's gestation period is 22 months, the longest of any land animal. At birth it is common for an elephant calf to weigh 120 kilograms (265 lb). An elephant may live as long as 70 years, sometimes longer. An elephant can grow up to 4 meters and weigh up to 7500 kg. The Elephant can be found in 37 countries in Africa. Elephants are among the world's most potentially dangerous animals, capable of crushing and killing any other land animal, from humans to lions and even rhinoceros.



The WildebeestThe Wildebeest
A wildebeest is an animal that inhabits the plains and open woodlands of Africa, in the Serengeti you can find the most Wildebeests. Wildebeest can grow up to 1.4 metres at the shoulder and weigh up to 250 kilograms. The life expectancy of the wildebeest is around the 20 years. Their diet consists mainly out of grasses, because of the seasonal nature of the African grasslands the Wildebeests are forced to migrate in May. During this period that last till late November approximately 1.5 million Wildebeests migrate south.



The ZebraThe Zebra
The Zebra is a part of the horse family, native to central, eastern and southern Africa. Zebras are highly sociable and are even used as domestic animals. the Plain Zebra can weigh up to 300 kg and can grow up to 240 cm in length.



The CheetahThe Cheetah
The cheetah is a big cat . A cheetah can reach a speed of up to 105 kilometres per hour, what makes the cheetah the fastest animal in the world. The Cheetah has a slender, long-legged body with blunt semi-retractable claws. Its chest is deep and its waist is narrow. Its coat is tan with small, round, black spots, and the fur is coarse and short. An adult cheetah can weigh up to 65 kilograms and it can have a body length that stretch to 135 centimetres.



The Leopard
The Leopard

A leopard is a big cat, that can be found in the southern parts of Asia and in the middle of Africa. Full grown male leopards can weigh up to 95 kg. Leopards have the ability to go undetected when attacking their prey, this makes them hard to spot. The leopard preys monkeys, rodents, birds, fish and wild pigs.


The giraffeThe giraffe
The giraffe is an African even-toed ungulate mammal, the tallest of all land-living animal species. Males can be 4.8 to 5.5 metres tall and weigh up to 1360 kilograms. Females are generally slightly shorter and weigh less than the males do. The (wild) giraffe can only be found in the middle of Africa.